Fifa world Cup

Historical past of the FIFA World Cup Trophy: From the inaugural World Cup championship till 1970. The winners of the World Cup had been offered with the Jules Rimet Trophy. Initially known as the World Cup (or Coupe du Monde, in French). Planned as a strong gold partisan condition of Nike. The Greek Goddess of Victory, created by French sculptor Abel Lefleur, in 1946. The cup was renamed after Jules Rimet, the FIFA president credited with authorizing the primary match.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

In 1970, after having gained the World Cup 3 times. Brazil was allowed to maintain the World Cup trophy. Among its groups’ possession completely. Within accordance with an early specification for groups to accumulate everlasting possession within the occasion of three WC wins.

Historical past of the FIFA World Cup Trophy

Nevertheless, the crew truly solely maintained possession of the trophy till 1983 – that 12 months. It was stolen from its show field on the Brazilian Soccer. Affiliation in Rio de Janeiro and has by no means since been recovered, believed to have been melted down by its crook. A German goldsmith created a replica for the affiliation to show.

Which was donated by Kodak of Brazil? The Cup had been stolen and reclaimed earlier than – as soon as in 1966. For ransom simply earlier than the beginning of that 12 months’ World Cup finals in London.

However, was quickly recovered by a chow named Pickles. Who adopted the scent of the trophy to a backyard hedge the place the thief had aimed to hide it. Then years later, its prime had stolen by a younger spectator within the midst of the Brazilian crew’s 1970 celebration.

Historical past of the FIFA World Cup Trophy

However, it had additionally been reborn quickly after. With the Brazilian crew’s entitlement to maintain the unique trophy. Completely, 1970 launched a brand new trophy, known as the FIFA WC Trophy. FIFA consultants from seven international locations evaluated 53 fashions and settled upon the design of Italy’s Silvio Gazzaniga.

Historical past of the FIFA World Cup Trophy

Whose design was about 14 inches tall 13 ½ kilos, and manufactured from strong 18-carat gold. As a sculpture of two athletic figures rising in victory, arms stretched out with the earth hoisted above them? Painted on the underside of the trophy are the years and names of every FIFA World Cup winner since 1974.

In 2042, when the title plaque of the present trophy turns into full. With solely sufficient capability for the names of the 17 winners from the 1974-1938 World Cups. The trophy will likely be retired completely to the FIFA headquarters. And a brand new trophy will likely be launched.

Historical past of the FIFA World Cup Trophy

The successful nation enjoys possession of the sports award. Until the next 12 months’ championship when it will likely be handed beside the brand new champions. After giving up possession of the unique strong gold trophy, nonetheless, the successful crew receives a gold-plated reproduction to maintain. Earlier than 1978, the eleven gamers who had been on the pitch on the finish of the eventual and third-place match additionally obtained medals.

Now annually’s prime three groups’ gamers and coaches. Obtain gold (for winners), silver (for runners-up), and bronze (for third place) medals with a WC Trophy insignia. In 2007, FIFA initiated that the successful World Cup crew members from 1930-1974 would even be offer medals attendant. After the 2002 WC, 4th place medals had been furthermore offered, to the crew for the Cup’s hosts, South Korea.

By Alex