India's squad for the 2022 Asia Cup

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) revealed India’s team for the Asia Cup 2022 on Monday. Rohit Sharma will serve as team India’s captain for the mega-event, which is set to start on August 27 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The Asia Cup final will be held in Dubai on September 11, 2022.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

India’s tournament campaign will get underway on August 28 with a heavyweight encounter between India and Pakistan. The ICC T20 World Cup 2022, which will be hosted in Australia later this year, is where the Men in Blue seek to make up for their defeat from the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 and cement their domination.

India’s 2022 Asia Cup roster was released by the BCCI

The India squad lineup for the 2017 Asia Cup was made public by the BCCI on Monday. Due to a back injury, the team has been without Jasprit Bumrah. KL Rahul will serve as the Indian cricket team’s vice captain in the 2022 Asia Cup. Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik, the team’s wicketkeepers, are both wicketkeepers.

Team India’s campaign will start on August 28.

The explosive match versus Pakistan will serve as the Men in Blue’s Asia Cup debut. On August 31, they will play the Qualifying team again. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan make up the final five teams for the competition. A qualification will be used to choose the sixth team. In the qualification, teams from Kuwait, the UAE, Hong Kong, and Singapore will compete.

The Super4 stage of the competition will begin on September 3 and conclude in Dubai on September 11 with the final. This year’s Asia Cup will be played in a 20-over format, and two cities—Dubai and Sharjah—will serve as the tournament’s hosts. The most wins in tournament history go to the Men in Blue with seven. Sri Lanka is the second-most successful team in the competition’s history with only 5 titles.

India’s Squad for Asia Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant(Wk), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (Wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan. 

Backup: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel.

See More News